Temple Heights is one of the state’s best examples of period restoration. The classically-designed house combines Federal and Greek Revival features, and the original servant quarters/kitchen as well as a kitchen built in the 1850s remain on the grounds.
This pillared mansion was built near the street, although the property extended over an entire city block. It includes gardens, stables and servants quarters. During the Civil War, it served as a hospital for Confederate soldiers.
A popular Spring Pilgrimage Tour home, this 1848 antebellum home features original furnishing and outbuildings, including a smokehouse and a dairy. The current owner is the 7th generation of his family to live in the house, and tours are available throughout the year.
Built c.1852, Waverley Plantation Mansion is one of America’s most unique architectural structures. Four circular staircases connect unsupported balconies and a 65-ft. domed foyer. Original ornamental plaster and marble mantels. Once the site of a 2,000 acre cotton plantation.
Built in 1857 by one of Corinth’s founders, the home is a significant example of Greek Revival architecture. The house was used in the Civil War as headquarters for Gens. Braxton Bragg, H.W. Halleck, and John B. Hood. The restored home/museum contains a collections of Boehme edition Audobon prints, eighteenth- and nineteenth-century antiques, paintings, and exhibit of replicas of Civil War soldiers’ furnishings made by Corinth’s C&D Jarnigan Company.
Learn the compelling story of one man’s surprising impact on a scarred country, the story of Lucius Quintus Cincinnatus Lamar. As Oxford rose from the ashes, L.Q.C. Lamar prepared to become a statesman in this house while he reflected on defeat and resolved to work for reconciliation between North and South. Later it became Senator Lamar’s retreat from the demands of Washington. His beautifully restored 1870 home graces three acres within Oxford’s North Lamar Historic District, walking distance from the Oxford Square. Professional exhibits present Lamar’s life against the backdrop of secession, war, and reunion. The 1870 house was declared a National Historic Landmark for Lamar’s role in national politics after the Civil War.
Effective immediately, the house is open
Friday-Sunday 1:00-4:00 with free admission.
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this restored Georgian-Greek Revival mansion, built in 1847, was once the home of Confederate General Stephen D. Lee, first President of MSU, first Superintendent of Vicksburg National Park, founder of the United Confederate Veterans, and first Chairman of the Board for the Mississippi Department of Archives and History. The house is fully furnished and includes personal items of the Lee family and the museum upstairs houses a treasure trove of Civil War artifacts and collections.
Located in the Spires Bolling/Gatewood House and named for Civil Rights heroine Ida B. Wells-Barnett, the museum shares the contributions of African Americans in the fields of history, art and culture.
Exhibits in “Frenchman’s Bend”, an outdoor exhibit area, give the visitor interactive experiences and a feel for Mississippi’s rural culture with the Faulkner Literary Garden, the Storyteller’s Chair, Varner’s Country Store, a caboose, an early 20th century doctor’s office, a black smith shop, a 1950s auto body shop, agricultural exhibits and great outdoor folk art. The museum complex occupies a city block in New Albany one block from the birthplace of Nobel Prize winning writer William Faulkner.
The DeSoto County Museum features the history and development of DeSoto County, Mississippi, from 1541 to the present. Artifacts and displays begin with the arrival of Hernando DeSoto and his contact with the native inhabitants of Mississippi. Displays continue through the riverboat days with a working model of a paddlewheel boat. Other exhibits feature the parlor of an antebellum mansion and artifacts from the Civil War. Key events in the agricultural, recreational, and social development of DeSoto County are also on display.
The old Courthouse Museum offers a fascinating visit to the past and a resource for genealogical research. The historic two-story brick Courthouse remains much as it was in 1889. Besides having a large collection of historical records and rotating exhibits of area attractions such as the World Famous Mineral Springs Water and Mineral Springs Hotel, the Courthouse has a well-rounded inventory of artifacts appealing to everyone’s interest.
The museum is full of historical data about the county, its past, and the many noted figures and events that helped shape its storied past and molded its future.
Established in 1998 on Main Street, this is the only working historical post office in the nation. Visitors can retrace the steps of the Chickasaws or learn of the hardships of the pioneers.
This museum boasts an eclectic representation of our region’s history. The main facility houses permanent exhibits, from fossils found in the region, early European settlement of Northeast Mississippi, the statehood of Mississippi, to Civil War years. In addition, the museum has a working model railroad depicting Tupelo, circa 1940. Its outside village is a life-size collection of regional history: an original 1870 Dogtrot cabin, a one-room chapel and one-room school dated from the late 1800’s, a functioning blacksmith shop, a Memphis streetcar turned into “Dudie’s Diner, two 1940 era fire trucks, and a Frisco caboose.
The Heritage Museum is housed in a renovated 1874 Mobile & Ohio railroad depot in the heart of Starkville and offers a rich view of the history and culture of Starkville and Oktibbeha County through a permanent collection of artifacts that provide a window into the community’s bygone era.
Exhibits cover the early days of Noxubee County. Sections highlight the Choctaw Indians and other areas of community life.
Like many sites concerned with Southern history, the museum devotes the first few exhibitions of its tour to artifacts from the Civil War era. As guests proceed to the upper floors, however, the true quirkiness of the place begins to come into focus. In one room, they find a collection of taxidermy animals indigenous to Mississippi; in the next, flapper girl clothing from the 1920s. Over here a large collection of Victorian children’s books shares floor space with an antique Victrola; while over there items made by the Native American tribes of Mississippi sit next to the first private bathtub ever owned in Holly Springs. From wall to wall, there is truly a little bit of everything: quilts, dresses, Elvis records, old advertisements, antique books and bottles, dollhouses, sports memorabilia, promotional materials from past presidential campaigns.
The City of Amory Regional Museum is dedicated to preserving, curating and archiving significant regional history and genealogical resources, and to providing innovative, educational programming that celebrates the culture and community of Amory, Mississippi and the surrounding area.