Built c.1852, Waverley Plantation Mansion is one of America’s most unique architectural structures. Four circular staircases connect unsupported balconies and a 65-ft. domed foyer. Original ornamental plaster and marble mantels. Once the site of a 2,000 acre cotton plantation.
Temple Heights is one of the state’s best examples of period restoration. The classically-designed house combines Federal and Greek Revival features, and the original servant quarters/kitchen as well as a kitchen built in the 1850s remain on the grounds.
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this restored Georgian-Greek Revival mansion, built in 1847, was once the home of Confederate General Stephen D. Lee, first President of MSU, first Superintendent of Vicksburg National Park, founder of the United Confederate Veterans, and first Chairman of the Board for the Mississippi Department of Archives and History. The house is fully furnished and includes personal items of the Lee family and the museum upstairs houses a treasure trove of Civil War artifacts and collections.
First home of Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Tennessee Williams, author of A Streetcar Named Desire, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof and The Glass Menagerie. Williams, considered the most important American playwright, was born in Columbus, Mississippi in 1911. He spent his beginning years in an old Victorian home that was the rectory for St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, where his grandfather served as minister. The home was recently honored with the designation of a National Literary Landmark, and it now serves as the official Welcome Center for Columbus.
A popular Spring Pilgrimage Tour home, this 1848 antebellum home features original furnishing and outbuildings, including a smokehouse and a dairy. The current owner is the 7th generation of his family to live in the house, and tours are available throughout the year.
This pillared mansion was built near the street, although the property extended over an entire city block. It includes gardens, stables and servants quarters. During the Civil War, it served as a hospital for Confederate soldiers.
A museum that honors and recognizes our nation’s military members who served during times of conflict.
Founded in 1884 as the first publicly-supported college for women in the United States, MUW is a tradition-rich university that has been home to such noted personalities as Pulitzer Prize-winning author Eudora Welty, as well as the mothers of both Tennessee Williams and William Faulkner.
Friendship Cemetery was the site of the original observance that led to America’s Memorial Day. In April of 1866, Columbus ladies laid flowers at the graves of both Union and Confederate soldiers. Four generals and over 2,000 soldiers are buried here.
Blues museum featuring history & artifacts of Howlin’ Wolf and the Black Prairie Region, Big Joe Williams, Bukka White. Granite statue of Howlin’ Wolf on display.
The Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway Region is rich in history, heritage, nature, and unique recreation.Some $50 million of modern recreation facilities were built as part the waterway construction. These facilities provide convenient access to the 40,000 acres of lakes that make up the waterway.
This facility houses Native American artifacts dating back hundreds and even thousands of years ago, and many of the artifacts were given to the museum by local Indian tribal members. The museum is open for tour appointment.
Lifeboat Church, where Howlin’ Wolf sang as a boy, and St. Peter’s United Methodist Church, established in the mid-1800s, combined in the 1960s to form St. Peter’s.
A collection of musical instruments, recordings, and sheet music amassed over four decades, donated to MSU by a local businessman.
On the third floor of Mitchell Memorial Library at Mississippi State University, this facility contains materials and memorabilia from the writings and achievements of bestselling author, former Mississippi legislator and MSU alumnus John Grisham.
The Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Library is located in the Congressional and Political Research Center on the first floor of Mississippi State University’s Mitchell Memorial Library.
The Cullis & Gladys Wade Clock Museum, located in the lobby of the Mississippi State University Welcome Center at the Cullis Wade Depot, showcases an extensive collection of mostly American clocks and watches dating as far back as the early 1700s. Purchased from across the United States, this collection of over 400 clocks represents nearly every American manufacturer of clocks, including Ansonia, Waterbury, W.L. Gilbert, Howard, and a large representation of Seth Thomas clocks.
The museum’s holdings include a number of important collections of Middle Eastern artifacts and also houses a significant collection of casts of ancient Near Eastern sculptures and panels which it holds on long term loan from the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City. Among these are replicas of the Code of Hammurabi, the Moabite Stone, the Black Obelisk of Shalmanezer III and the Rosetta Stone. In addition, the holdings include a significant collection of ancient coins assembled by the Institute’s first director, E.J. Vardaman.
The Dunn-Seiler Geology Museum houses mineral and rock collections, meteorites, and extensive fossil displays that facilitate viewer understanding of the 4.6 billion year history of our planet. Visitors can learn about mineral families and properties, igneous, sedimentary, and metamorphic rocks, mass extinctions and asteroids, karst, plate tectonics, and Mississippi’s geology. The Dunn-Seiler displays a Triceratops skull replica, a Cretaceous crocodile skull, and many fossils from Mississippi and the Southeast.