Built in 1857 by one of Corinth’s founders, the home is a significant example of Greek Revival architecture. The house was used in the Civil War as headquarters for Gens. Braxton Bragg, H.W. Halleck, and John B. Hood. The restored home/museum contains a collections of Boehme edition Audobon prints, eighteenth- and nineteenth-century antiques, paintings, and exhibit of replicas of Civil War soldiers’ furnishings made by Corinth’s C&D Jarnigan Company.
Located in the historic train depot in Corinth, the museum is home to many artifacts detailing the history of northern Mississippi. Permanent exhibit items include fossils, American Indian artifacts, depot and railroad industry displays, aviation memorabilia and Civil War relics. The museum sits at the famous crossroads of the Memphis & Charleston and the Mobile & Ohio railroads, which made Corinth one of the most strategic transportation hubs during the Civil War and gave the community its reputation as “The Crossroads of the Western Confederacy”.
The museum features over 1,000 pieces of authentic Coca-Cola memorabilia, plus a large collection of old fashioned drink machines from years gone by.
The Corinth Civil War Interpretive Center is operated by the National Park Service as part of Shiloh National Military Park. The 12,000-square-foot facility interprets the key role of Corinth in the Civil War’s western theater. The rail crossing at Corinth ranked second only to the Confederate capital at Richmond in terms of strategic importance for more than a six-month period of 1862. During the war, Corinth was fortified heavily by both Federal and Confederate forces. The Interpretive Center is located near the site of Battery Robinett, a Union fortification that was witness to some of the bloodiest fighting of the Civil War.
Established by Union General Grenville M. Dodge to accommodate African-American refugees, the camp featured numerous homes, a church, school and hospital. The freedmen cultivated and sold cotton and vegetables in a progressive cooperative farm program. By August 1863, over 1,000 African American children and adults gained the ability to read through the efforts of various benevolent organizations. Although the camp had a modest beginning, it became a model and allowed for approximately 6,000 ex-slaves to establish their own individual identities.
Corinth National Cemetery was established in 1866 for approximately 2,300 Union casualties of the Battle of Corinth and similar clashes in the surrounding area. By late 1870 there were more than 5,688 interments in the cemetery—1,793 known and 3,895 unknown soldiers. The dead represented 273 regiments from 15 states. In addition, there are three Confederate interments in the cemetery – one unknown and two known soldiers.
The one and only museum in the world dedicated to aprons, featuring a collection of aprons in the thousands dating from the 1860’s to today.
The old Courthouse Museum offers a fascinating visit to the past and a resource for genealogical research. The historic two-story brick Courthouse remains much as it was in 1889. Besides having a large collection of historical records and rotating exhibits of area attractions such as the World Famous Mineral Springs Water and Mineral Springs Hotel, the Courthouse has a well-rounded inventory of artifacts appealing to everyone’s interest.
The museum is full of historical data about the county, its past, and the many noted figures and events that helped shape its storied past and molded its future.
Located in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, Tishomingo State Park is steeped in history and scenic beauty. Archaeological excavations confirm the presence of Paleo Indians in the area now encompassed by the park as early as 7000 B.C.; the park takes its name from the leader of the Chickasaw nation, Chief Tishomingo. The famous Natchez Trace Parkway, the premier highway of the early 1800s and a modern scenic parkway, runs directly through the park. Today’s visitors to Tishomingo State Park discover the same timeless natural beauty that enchanted the Indians centuries ago. Tishomingo offers a unique landscape of massive rock formations and fern-filled crevices found nowhere else in Mississippi. Massive boulders blanketed in moss dot the hillsides, and colorful wildflowers border trails once walked by Native Americans.
The center interprets the Battle of Brice’s Crossroads, fought June 10, 1864, and the Battle of Harrisburg/Old Town Creek, fought July 13-15, 1864. These two battles are focus of indoor and outdoor exhibits at both battlefields. Visitors can enjoy a complete look at the Civil War that will include a civil war timeline, a memorial and remembrance wall, an exhibit outlining “Mississippi in the Civil War”, army definitions, and a complete story of Brice’s Crossroads and Harrisburg-Old Town Creek battles. The 4000 sq. ft. interpretive center has restrooms, a bookstore, flag exhibit, video and exhibit area and a conference room. / The Confederate victory at Brices Cross Roads was a significant victory for Major General Nathan Bedford Forrest, but its long term effect on the war proved costly for the Confederates. Brice’s Cross Roads is an excellent example of winning the battle, but losing the war.
This Middle Woodland Mound Site has been dated to approximately 2,200 years ago and is the oldest documented man-made site in Union County. Smithsonian archaeologists excavated the site in the middle 1880s, creating the map (below) and taking hundreds of objects for its permanent collection. A selection of those objects is on loan from the Smithsonian to the Union County Heritage Museum and are currently on exhibit. Annually events are held for students and adults at the 63 acre Mound site, that is owned by the Archaeological Conservancy. For tours and information contact the museum. The site opens at dawn and closes at dusk.
Exhibits in “Frenchman’s Bend”, an outdoor exhibit area, give the visitor interactive experiences and a feel for Mississippi’s rural culture with the Faulkner Literary Garden, the Storyteller’s Chair, Varner’s Country Store, a caboose, an early 20th century doctor’s office, a black smith shop, a 1950s auto body shop, agricultural exhibits and great outdoor folk art. The museum complex occupies a city block in New Albany one block from the birthplace of Nobel Prize winning writer William Faulkner.
Operated by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, the center is located in Itawamba County on the east side of the Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway. Videos and displays examine waterways and Appalachian-region programs. Nature trail, fishing, auditorium and picnic area.
The Elvis Presley Birthplace Park features the Birthplace, Museum, Chapel, Gift Shop, “Elvis at 13” statue, Fountain of Life, Walk of Life, “Memphis Bound” car feature and Story Wall.
Featuring 120,000 square feet of automobile displays and open viewing restoration bays. Over 100 antique, classic and collectible automobiles, chronologically displayed, illustrate the progress of over 100 years of automobile design and engineering. The self-guided tour begins with an 1886 Benz, representing the birth of the automobile, and culminates with a never-driven 1994 Dodge Viper. The collection, valued at over $6 million, includes a rare Tucker, a Lincoln previously owned by Elvis Presley, other movie and celebrity vehicles, Hispano Suizas, a Duesenberg, and many more rare brands and American favorites. Automobiles currently under restoration will be added to the display area as they are completed.
This six-foot-tall bronze sculpture of Chickasaw Chief Piomingo by William Beckwith sits in front of the Tupelo City Hall.
This larger-than-life statue of Elvis’ 1956 Homecoming Concert at the Tupelo Fairgrounds was based on a famous shot called “the Hands” by Roger Marshutz. Facing east toward his Tupelo birthplace, the statue is poised for a perfect photo op with Tupelo Hardware, where he bought his first guitar, visible over his left shoulder. The statue stands on the site of the old fairgrounds where the concert took place and was created by Mississippi sculptor Bill Beckwith.
A local tribute to the brave men and women who defended our country in the Civil War, World War I, World War II, Korean War, Vietnam War, and the modern Desert Storm and Iraqi Wars, the museum is filled with wartime exhibits covering the heights and depths of human experience.
This museum boasts an eclectic representation of our region’s history. The main facility houses permanent exhibits, from fossils found in the region, early European settlement of Northeast Mississippi, the statehood of Mississippi, to Civil War years. In addition, the museum has a working model railroad depicting Tupelo, circa 1940. Its outside village is a life-size collection of regional history: an original 1870 Dogtrot cabin, a one-room chapel and one-room school dated from the late 1800’s, a functioning blacksmith shop, a Memphis streetcar turned into “Dudie’s Diner, two 1940 era fire trucks, and a Frisco caboose.
Pre-Civil War church tells the story of the Yellow Fever epidemic of 1878.