Dedicated to railroad engineer Casey Jones, this museum houses artifacts and memorabilia that tell the story of this historic figure and legendary train engineer.
The legacy of recently emancipated African Americans stands proudly today in tribute to their determination to build their own church. Their frame Methodist Episcopal Church built in 1867 near the Oxford Square was replaced in 1910 with a twin-steepled brick church. Following the building’s restoration in 2013, the Mississippi Landmark now serves the community as a history museum and an events center. Professionally designed exhibits review African American life from Enslavement through Civil Rights. A video and accompanying panels tell the Burns Church story. Local African Americans are featured throughout the museum. It’s an easy walk to the Burns-Belfry Museum from the historic Oxford Square.
This facility houses Native American artifacts dating back hundreds and even thousands of years ago, and many of the artifacts were given to the museum by local Indian tribal members. The museum is open for tour appointment.
Features animal displays, lake history, wildlife scenes, informational videos and a telescope overlook point.
Operated by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, the center is located in Itawamba County on the east side of the Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway. Videos and displays examine waterways and Appalachian-region programs. Nature trail, fishing, auditorium and picnic area.
Pre-Civil War church tells the story of the Yellow Fever epidemic of 1878.
Located in the heart of Ole Miss, the John Davis Williams Library is known for its literary collections, the crown jewel of which is William Faulkner’s “Rowan Oak Papers”. Discovered in a broom closet at Faulkner’s home, this collection is one of the greatest finds of modern literary manuscripts. They contain several thousand sheets of autograph and typescript drafts of poems, short stories, film scripts, and novels written by Faulkner in some of his most creative years, between 1925 and 1939.
The Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Library is located in the Congressional and Political Research Center on the first floor of Mississippi State University’s Mitchell Memorial Library.
A local tribute to the brave men and women who defended our country in the Civil War, World War I, World War II, Korean War, Vietnam War, and the modern Desert Storm and Iraqi Wars, the museum is filled with wartime exhibits covering the heights and depths of human experience.
The one and only museum in the world dedicated to aprons, featuring a collection of aprons in the thousands dating from the 1860’s to today.
A collection of musical instruments, recordings, and sheet music amassed over four decades, donated to MSU by a local businessman.
Papers, awards, memorabilia, civil rights material and other items belonging to the former executive secretary of the NAACP who was born in Marshall County.
The Cullis & Gladys Wade Clock Museum, located in the lobby of the Mississippi State University Welcome Center at the Cullis Wade Depot, showcases an extensive collection of mostly American clocks and watches dating as far back as the early 1700s. Purchased from across the United States, this collection of over 400 clocks represents nearly every American manufacturer of clocks, including Ansonia, Waterbury, W.L. Gilbert, Howard, and a large representation of Seth Thomas clocks.
The museum features over 1,000 pieces of authentic Coca-Cola memorabilia, plus a large collection of old fashioned drink machines from years gone by.
A museum that honors and recognizes our nation’s military members who served during times of conflict.
The museum’s holdings include a number of important collections of Middle Eastern artifacts and also houses a significant collection of casts of ancient Near Eastern sculptures and panels which it holds on long term loan from the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City. Among these are replicas of the Code of Hammurabi, the Moabite Stone, the Black Obelisk of Shalmanezer III and the Rosetta Stone. In addition, the holdings include a significant collection of ancient coins assembled by the Institute’s first director, E.J. Vardaman.
The Dunn-Seiler Geology Museum houses mineral and rock collections, meteorites, and extensive fossil displays that facilitate viewer understanding of the 4.6 billion year history of our planet. Visitors can learn about mineral families and properties, igneous, sedimentary, and metamorphic rocks, mass extinctions and asteroids, karst, plate tectonics, and Mississippi’s geology. The Dunn-Seiler displays a Triceratops skull replica, a Cretaceous crocodile skull, and many fossils from Mississippi and the Southeast.
Featuring 120,000 square feet of automobile displays and open viewing restoration bays. Over 100 antique, classic and collectible automobiles, chronologically displayed, illustrate the progress of over 100 years of automobile design and engineering. The self-guided tour begins with an 1886 Benz, representing the birth of the automobile, and culminates with a never-driven 1994 Dodge Viper. The collection, valued at over $6 million, includes a rare Tucker, a Lincoln previously owned by Elvis Presley, other movie and celebrity vehicles, Hispano Suizas, a Duesenberg, and many more rare brands and American favorites. Automobiles currently under restoration will be added to the display area as they are completed.