Located in the Spires Bolling/Gatewood House and named for Civil Rights heroine Ida B. Wells-Barnett, the museum shares the contributions of African Americans in the fields of history, art and culture.
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this restored Georgian-Greek Revival mansion, built in 1847, was once the home of Confederate General Stephen D. Lee, first President of MSU, first Superintendent of Vicksburg National Park, founder of the United Confederate Veterans, and first Chairman of the Board for the Mississippi Department of Archives and History. The house is fully furnished and includes personal items of the Lee family and the museum upstairs houses a treasure trove of Civil War artifacts and collections.
Learn the compelling story of one man’s surprising impact on a scarred country, the story of Lucius Quintus Cincinnatus Lamar. As Oxford rose from the ashes, L.Q.C. Lamar prepared to become a statesman in this house while he reflected on defeat and resolved to work for reconciliation between North and South. Later it became Senator Lamar’s retreat from the demands of Washington. His beautifully restored 1870 home graces three acres within Oxford’s North Lamar Historic District, walking distance from the Oxford Square. Professional exhibits present Lamar’s life against the backdrop of secession, war, and reunion. The 1870 house was declared a National Historic Landmark for Lamar’s role in national politics after the Civil War.
Effective immediately, the house is open
Friday-Sunday 1:00-4:00 with free admission.
Built in 1857 by one of Corinth’s founders, the home is a significant example of Greek Revival architecture. The house was used in the Civil War as headquarters for Gens. Braxton Bragg, H.W. Halleck, and John B. Hood. The restored home/museum contains a collections of Boehme edition Audobon prints, eighteenth- and nineteenth-century antiques, paintings, and exhibit of replicas of Civil War soldiers’ furnishings made by Corinth’s C&D Jarnigan Company.
Built c.1852, Waverley Plantation Mansion is one of America’s most unique architectural structures. Four circular staircases connect unsupported balconies and a 65-ft. domed foyer. Original ornamental plaster and marble mantels. Once the site of a 2,000 acre cotton plantation.
A popular Spring Pilgrimage Tour home, this 1848 antebellum home features original furnishing and outbuildings, including a smokehouse and a dairy. The current owner is the 7th generation of his family to live in the house, and tours are available throughout the year.
This pillared mansion was built near the street, although the property extended over an entire city block. It includes gardens, stables and servants quarters. During the Civil War, it served as a hospital for Confederate soldiers.
Temple Heights is one of the state’s best examples of period restoration. The classically-designed house combines Federal and Greek Revival features, and the original servant quarters/kitchen as well as a kitchen built in the 1850s remain on the grounds.
Exhibits in “Frenchman’s Bend”, an outdoor exhibit area, give the visitor interactive experiences and a feel for Mississippi’s rural culture with the Faulkner Literary Garden, the Storyteller’s Chair, Varner’s Country Store, a caboose, an early 20th century doctor’s office, a black smith shop, a 1950s auto body shop, agricultural exhibits and great outdoor folk art. The museum complex occupies a city block in New Albany one block from the birthplace of Nobel Prize winning writer William Faulkner.
The DeSoto County Museum features the history and development of DeSoto County, Mississippi, from 1541 to the present. Artifacts and displays begin with the arrival of Hernando DeSoto and his contact with the native inhabitants of Mississippi. Displays continue through the riverboat days with a working model of a paddlewheel boat. Other exhibits feature the parlor of an antebellum mansion and artifacts from the Civil War. Key events in the agricultural, recreational, and social development of DeSoto County are also on display.
The old Courthouse Museum offers a fascinating visit to the past and a resource for genealogical research. The historic two-story brick Courthouse remains much as it was in 1889. Besides having a large collection of historical records and rotating exhibits of area attractions such as the World Famous Mineral Springs Water and Mineral Springs Hotel, the Courthouse has a well-rounded inventory of artifacts appealing to everyone’s interest.
The museum is full of historical data about the county, its past, and the many noted figures and events that helped shape its storied past and molded its future.
Established in 1998 on Main Street, this is the only working historical post office in the nation. Visitors can retrace the steps of the Chickasaws or learn of the hardships of the pioneers.
This museum boasts an eclectic representation of our region’s history. The main facility houses permanent exhibits, from fossils found in the region, early European settlement of Northeast Mississippi, the statehood of Mississippi, to Civil War years. In addition, the museum has a working model railroad depicting Tupelo, circa 1940. Its outside village is a life-size collection of regional history: an original 1870 Dogtrot cabin, a one-room chapel and one-room school dated from the late 1800’s, a functioning blacksmith shop, a Memphis streetcar turned into “Dudie’s Diner, two 1940 era fire trucks, and a Frisco caboose.
The Heritage Museum is housed in a renovated 1874 Mobile & Ohio railroad depot in the heart of Starkville and offers a rich view of the history and culture of Starkville and Oktibbeha County through a permanent collection of artifacts that provide a window into the community’s bygone era.
Exhibits cover the early days of Noxubee County. Sections highlight the Choctaw Indians and other areas of community life.
Like many sites concerned with Southern history, the museum devotes the first few exhibitions of its tour to artifacts from the Civil War era. As guests proceed to the upper floors, however, the true quirkiness of the place begins to come into focus. In one room, they find a collection of taxidermy animals indigenous to Mississippi; in the next, flapper girl clothing from the 1920s. Over here a large collection of Victorian children’s books shares floor space with an antique Victrola; while over there items made by the Native American tribes of Mississippi sit next to the first private bathtub ever owned in Holly Springs. From wall to wall, there is truly a little bit of everything: quilts, dresses, Elvis records, old advertisements, antique books and bottles, dollhouses, sports memorabilia, promotional materials from past presidential campaigns.
The City of Amory Regional Museum is dedicated to preserving, curating and archiving significant regional history and genealogical resources, and to providing innovative, educational programming that celebrates the culture and community of Amory, Mississippi and the surrounding area.
The Dunn-Seiler Geology Museum houses mineral and rock collections, meteorites, and extensive fossil displays that facilitate viewer understanding of the 4.6 billion year history of our planet. Visitors can learn about mineral families and properties, igneous, sedimentary, and metamorphic rocks, mass extinctions and asteroids, karst, plate tectonics, and Mississippi’s geology. The Dunn-Seiler displays a Triceratops skull replica, a Cretaceous crocodile skull, and many fossils from Mississippi and the Southeast.
The museum’s holdings include a number of important collections of Middle Eastern artifacts and also houses a significant collection of casts of ancient Near Eastern sculptures and panels which it holds on long term loan from the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City. Among these are replicas of the Code of Hammurabi, the Moabite Stone, the Black Obelisk of Shalmanezer III and the Rosetta Stone. In addition, the holdings include a significant collection of ancient coins assembled by the Institute’s first director, E.J. Vardaman.
A museum that honors and recognizes our nation’s military members who served during times of conflict.
The museum features over 1,000 pieces of authentic Coca-Cola memorabilia, plus a large collection of old fashioned drink machines from years gone by.
Papers, awards, memorabilia, civil rights material and other items belonging to the former executive secretary of the NAACP who was born in Marshall County.
A collection of musical instruments, recordings, and sheet music amassed over four decades, donated to MSU by a local businessman.
The one and only museum in the world dedicated to aprons, featuring a collection of aprons in the thousands dating from the 1860’s to today.
A local tribute to the brave men and women who defended our country in the Civil War, World War I, World War II, Korean War, Vietnam War, and the modern Desert Storm and Iraqi Wars, the museum is filled with wartime exhibits covering the heights and depths of human experience.
The Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Library is located in the Congressional and Political Research Center on the first floor of Mississippi State University’s Mitchell Memorial Library.
Located in the heart of Ole Miss, the John Davis Williams Library is known for its literary collections, the crown jewel of which is William Faulkner’s “Rowan Oak Papers”. Discovered in a broom closet at Faulkner’s home, this collection is one of the greatest finds of modern literary manuscripts. They contain several thousand sheets of autograph and typescript drafts of poems, short stories, film scripts, and novels written by Faulkner in some of his most creative years, between 1925 and 1939.
Operated by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, the center is located in Itawamba County on the east side of the Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway. Videos and displays examine waterways and Appalachian-region programs. Nature trail, fishing, auditorium and picnic area.
Features animal displays, lake history, wildlife scenes, informational videos and a telescope overlook point.
The legacy of recently emancipated African Americans stands proudly today in tribute to their determination to build their own church. Their frame Methodist Episcopal Church built in 1867 near the Oxford Square was replaced in 1910 with a twin-steepled brick church. Following the building’s restoration in 2013, the Mississippi Landmark now serves the community as a history museum and an events center. Professionally designed exhibits review African American life from Enslavement through Civil Rights. A video and accompanying panels tell the Burns Church story. Local African Americans are featured throughout the museum. It’s an easy walk to the Burns-Belfry Museum from the historic Oxford Square.
Dedicated to railroad engineer Casey Jones, this museum houses artifacts and memorabilia that tell the story of this historic figure and legendary train engineer.